Kunming Municipality


Kunming Municipality comprises all the territory surrounding Kunming City, capital of Yunnan Province. It has an area of 21,000 sq kilometers and a population (2000 census) of 5, 8 millions.

It is situated in the north central of Yunnan Province; the transport and industrial hub of the province, and the natural gate to every traveler visiting Yunnan.

It comprises three autonomous counties:

- Shilin Yi Autonomous County. In the east of the municipality, now is a turistic hot spot, as thousands of tourists arrive every year to visit the Stone Forest. It is the home of the Sani people, after 1949 considered a branch of the Yi.
- Luquan Yi and Miao Autonomous County. In the north, on the way to the Yi lands in Chuxiong. Most of the Miao are Flowery Miao or Ah-Mao.
- Xundian Hui and Yi Autonomous County.

- Six counties and cities:

- Anning City. Only 30 km off Kunming.
- Chenggong County.
- Jinning County.
- Fumin County.
- Yiliang County.
- Songming County.

- The five districts of Kunming City, with some administrative and cultural entities related to the Yunnan ethnic groups. Panlong District, Wuhua District, Guandu District, Xishan District, and Dongchuan District

Back to Ethnic Yunnan main page

Back to Ethnic Geography main page

© Copyright 2007 www.ethnic-china.com


Buy books related to China Ethnic Groups and help to develop this web